Selah Welton.

Selah Welton

Friday, October 31, 2014, 8 pm. Lightner Museum

The St Augustine Orchestra will present its fall concert entitled A Symphonic Sampler Friday, October 31st. Under the direction of William McNeiland the orchestra will present Beethoven’s Fidelio Overture. Since it is Halloween, there will be a special Halloween selection, and the title will be announced at the concert, as a surprise “treat”.

The performance will continue with a single movement from four different symphonies: the Menuetto from Symphony No. 40 in g minor by Mozart, the third movement of Symphony No. 4 by Brahms, and the third movement of Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 4 (Italian).  The final movement in the sampler will be the first movement of Symphony No. 2 in b minor by Alexander Borodin. Dvorak’s Slavonic Dance, Opus 46, No. 6 will also be included.

Our soloist will be Selah Welton, a young violinist who recently won the Jacksonville Symphony’s Concert on the Green competition.  Selah will play the first movement of the Concerto in g minor by Max Bruch. The concert will conclude with selections from “My Fair Lady”.

The opening concert of the season will be held in the beautiful gilded age ambiance of The Lightner Museum at 25 Granada Street in St. Augustine. The program will begin at 8:00 P.M. . Tickets for Friday’s concert are $20.00 for adults, $5.00 for Students with ID, and free to Children 12 and under. Tickets are available in advance online at or at the door on the performance night.


Linda Masterson, SAO Marketing
[email protected]